Bloc Party

Released 29/01/16
View all releases

HYMNS is the fifth studio album, and their first in four years, from Miloco alumni Bloc Party who have worked on past albums such as Intimacy and A Weekend In The City with us. This is the first album with the band’s revamped line up, featuring new bassist Justin Harris and drummer Louise Bartle who joined original members, guitarist Russell Lissack and frontman Kele Okereke.

The entire album was written in The Bridge with engineer Ben Jackson, who programmed, engineered and mixed all the demos and went on to engineer the final cut of the album closer, ‘Living Lux’.

“Kele, Russell and me spent about a year demo’ing and trying out different sounds,” Ben says. “We were mainly in The Bridge with a few times at Livingston 2 and The Bunker. We loved the vibe in The Bridge, we did Kele’s previous solo record there and it’s just so flexible to work in.”

During the writing stage, Ben used a combination of Logic and Pro Tools. For all of Kele’s vocals he used a valve Neumann U47 into the API 7600 channel strip. For the guitars Ben used Russell’s pedal board through the Neve 1073 channel strip into the Distressor.

Of the strong electronic sound of the album, Ben says, “everyone keeps saying they can’t hear the guitars, but that’s all there is. All those synth sounds are actually Russell’s guitar.”

Check out our review of the album here.


Stay in the loop

Follow @milocostudios
Subscribe to Miloco News

We will send you our monthly newsletter, alongside occasional promotional emails and important updates from the Miloco group. You can unsubscribe at any time. For more details, please review our Privacy Policy.